Home > Alcohol, Bitching, Drinking, Halloween, Things I Actually Like > The Time I Drank Pumpkin Beer

The Time I Drank Pumpkin Beer

September 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

So, I’ve sampled a lot of pumpkin-flavored beverages in my day. I’ve tried Brooklyn Brewery’s Post Road Pumpkin Ale, O’Fallon Brewery’s Pumpkin Ale (still my favorite), Morgan Street Brewery’s Pumpkin Honey Wheat, Coors’ Blue Moon Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale, Samuel Adams Harvest Pumpkin Ale, Schlafly Pumpkin Ale, and Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale. And probably a few others that I can’t remember at the moment.

The point is, I like my pumpkins and booze to intermingle. So here are two reviews of varieties I tried for the first time this year.

Harpoon Pumpkin Cider
Boston, MA and Windsor, VT
Ingredients: fermented apple juice, pumpkin, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg.
140 calories, 4.8% ALC/VOL

  • Looks: 7/10 – I actually don’t know since I never poured it into a glass, but instead drank it straight from the bottle. What can I say? I’m fancy. But as far as I can tell, it’s your standard clear cider drink.
  • Smell: 8/10 – Smells heavily of apples (no surprise there) and cinnamon. Given the ingredients list, that’s no surprise.
  • Taste: 6/10 – Though the pumpkin taste is certainly there eventually, it mostly tastes like apple cider first and foremost. It’s quite sweet, but has a slightly bitter aftertaste. It’s not bad at all, but not my favorite form of pumpkin booze either. When will we get a pumpkin-flavored vodka on the market?
  • Overall: 7/10 – It’s mostly FINE. So maybe I should knock it down to a 6/10 or something. I always overrate my alcohol, mostly because I get buzzed after a few sips. Basically, when it comes to pumpkin alcohol, beer is still the best pairing. But hey, if you gotta have your harvest duo of apples and pumpkins TOGETHER, knock yourself out with this drink.

Shock Top Pumpkin Wheat
St. Louis, MO
Belgian-style wheat ale brewed with ripe pumpkins, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves.
168 calories, 5.2% ALC/VOL

  • Looks: 8/10 – Um, looks like beer. Once again, I’ve come to this startling conclusion by peering into the top of the bottle, since I’m not using a glass.
  • Smell: 5/10 – No pumpkin aroma whatsoever. If I didn’t know better, I’d say this smelled like a Budweiser. Maybe that’s just because Anheuser-Busch makes it? (Note: I took most of my college classes in Anheuser-Busch Hall. Way to go, Washington University, for making that building devoted to East Asian Studies.)
  • Taste: 4/10 – I…don’t get it. I taste no pumpkin. Well, maybe a slight hint of spice one second after swallowing? Seriously, I’m confused. Did I get a messed up batch?
  • Overall: 5/10 – I’m really disappointed by the lack of pumpkin flavor, but it’s okay as a regular beer. I suppose. Man, maybe I was wrong about beer being the proper complement to pumpkin. Apples are winning hands down at this point.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

