Home > Animals, Cool, Things I Actually Like, Worry > The Time I Got a Fishy Friend

The Time I Got a Fishy Friend

Oh, man, you guys. I am excited. About a fish. A fishy friend! Of my very own!

Okay, I’ve never had a pet all on my own. My parents took care of all our pets when I was younger, so this is my first foray into pet ownership. So cut me some slack.

But yeah, today I got a betta fish for my desk at work! Click on any of the supply images to buy them online.

Here’s my current tank set-up. I am going out to buy some plants tonight. The pet store only had the sharpest, most knife-like plastic plants I had ever seen, so I passed on them.

And here’s little Ichigo himself! Ichigo means “strawberry” in Japanese, which I thought fit his coloring. I’ve been fussing over him all day, which probably isn’t healthy for either of us, but I just want to make sure that he’s happy!

UPDATE: Tank now with real plants and a background to give it some depth. Except now Ichigo won’t stop flaring at his damn reflection.

  1. Suezette Entis
    August 15, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    Yeay! Your fishy friend will be very happy in your tank and I love its name! It will keep you occupied at your desk. I assume you are keeping the little guy or girl at work?

    • August 15, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Yup, he’s a work fish. I just bought some plants and a background for the aquarium today, as well as a new light (the incandescent one is getting way too hot), a small net (not for the fish, but to get uneaten food out of the tank), and a siphon gravel cleaner. This fish is not turning out to be cheap so far.

  2. calger459
    August 20, 2012 at 9:57 am

    aww Ichigo is really cute! Hopefully he’ll be a well behaved work fish! Yeah fish expenses add up pretty quick, but it’s not too bad once you get it going. How big is the tank, a 1 or 2 gallon? I love that he has a leaf hammock, that’s adorable! If you start getting algae growing you may need to get a snail to help clean that up.

    • August 20, 2012 at 9:59 am

      2.5 gallon tank with a filter. So far, algae is under control. I just worry about the snails breeding out of control and taking over the tank!

      • Eben
        November 4, 2012 at 9:22 pm

        Snails like the gold inca or black mystery require another of its species to reproduce. Those little pest snails really are something to worry about. Loricariids may produce lots of waste but not as much as the snail! (I own one of each.)

  3. Eben
    October 2, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    Cute fish. if algae becomes a problem get a bristlenose pleco. Very gentle with the plants but sometimes mine harasses the betta.

    • Dominik
      October 9, 2012 at 3:51 am

      I would say a pleco in this size tank would generate more waist than clean! I’d get an Apple Snail instead…

      • Eben
        November 1, 2012 at 12:02 am

        Baby bristlenoses work fine… I got my little “janitor fish” as a baby and he was kept in a 2.5 gal successfully until I upgraded. They normally grow 3″-5″ as adults.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

