Home > Bitching, Depressing, Illness, Sad, Strange, Surgery, Worry > The Time My Foot Decided to Go Rogue

The Time My Foot Decided to Go Rogue

The healing on my left foot is much different than it was for my right one.

For the first foot, it was always an upward trajectory with each day being a little better than the day before. Now, with the second foot, it’s a total crap shoot. Some days I feel okay, other days the pain is unbelievable. Some days the pain is quite manageable, and others my foot throbs and burns with every heartbeat. I never know what it’s going to be like until I wake up in the morning and put weight on it. It’s a brutal reminder that, yes, my bone is indeed broken, and I should quit trying to hop around town on it. But I’ve been almost entirely housebound for the past three weekends, and I’m getting very antsy.

The doctors don’t really know why I’m having such a hard time with the left foot, but suppose that it might just be because my right foot is still not at 100%. There’s a lot of pressure involved in walking, and there’s no super stable bone for it to travel through. Sigh.

So yeah, on again off again pain, and I was told to stop taking Percocet and switch to Aleve instead (which does nothing). I’m supposed to get the boot off on Tuesday, though I’m worried about walking in a regular shoe, given the shooting nerve zaps I get even in the surgical shoe.

Below are pictures from my bandage change earlier this week (2 weeks post-op), and my before and after x-rays. Only one pin instead of two in the left foot, for some reason. I wonder if that could be causing any extra twisting, which would result in more pain? No idea.

Read more:

  1. calger459
    August 31, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Wow I missed this post somehow. So I hate to ask this, but your left foot doesn’t look quite as “fixed” as the right, your big toe is still going under your second toe a bit. Will that eventually correct itself?

  1. August 31, 2012 at 9:42 am
  2. April 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Leave a comment