The Time My Parents Got Kittens

For 16 years, my family had a lovely cat named Cleo. He was some sort of Maine Coon mix, and was therefore huge and fluffy, and used to fetch sticks like a dog. And yes, we named him Cleo before finding out he was a boy. This happened with our cat Rosie, too. Look, we’re not very good at sexing kittens.

On Saturday, my parents took poor Cleo to the vet to have him put to sleep. He had been suffering for about two months with kidney failure, and had lost about five pounds, which is a lot for a cat. My parents had been giving him subcutaneous fluids and feeding him pureed food by syringe for all that time, and he just wasn’t able to rally given his advanced age. I wish I had been in Ohio to say goodbye, but it was not to be.

Though I knew the end was near, losing a pet is always tough. I really miss him already. My parents felt the same way, and ended up stopping at our local no-kill shelter on the way home from the vet’s. I think the initial idea was “just to look,” but who ever goes to a shelter only to come away empty-handed? And so we now have two new kittens, Sasha (grey) and Simba (tabby). They are currently living in my childhood bathroom until they settle down and are fully litter-trained.

Yes, my bathroom was/is pastel pink. It was not my choice. And that’s my mom there, posing with them.

  1. calger459
    August 6, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Aww I forgot about that picture of little Cleo, he was so tiny! I really miss him too, part of me wishes I had been able to go down to Cinci to say goodbye, but the other part of me is glad I didn’t see him all skinny and dying, I think that would have been terrible. He was a great cat, and had an awesome life and lots of love 🙂 I can’t wait to meet the new kitties Labor Day weekend!

  1. August 21, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

