Home > Bitching, Depressing, Illness, Sad, Summer, Surgery, Worry > The Time I Had Foot Surgery (AGAIN)

The Time I Had Foot Surgery (AGAIN)

So yeah, it’s that time again. Four weeks ago, I had bunion surgery on my right foot. I documented the healing process a bit, then decided to just go ahead and get the left foot done since who needs a summer anyway? Not this girl!

I’m so depressed.

Anyway, the procedure was much the same this time around, though with a few key differences. One, I had a different nurse anesthetist who pumped me full of anti-anxiety drugs without notifying me. I felt someone fiddling with my IV, then felt really weird and had to turn around and ask what the hell had just happened. “Oh, just something to make you feel a bit better!” he said, cheerfully. I had actually been feeling fine, and didn’t need the extra drugs. Sigh. But as a result of the pre-surgery drugs or maybe something else given during the procedure, I was really out of it for a few hours post-surgery. The doctor came over and talked to me about the procedure afterwards, apparently, but I have no recollection of any of it.

Also, I’m not sure he cut the tendon above my second toe this time around. I called the office to ask, but the doctor wasn’t in, so I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out for sure. Considering that the tendon release was the most painful part of the surgery on the right foot, I can’t really complain about its omission on the left foot, but still. Er, wasn’t it supposed to be done?

So here’s my pictorial update, and I’m bed/couch-bound for the next week at least. I’m bored already!

Left foot:

Right foot:

Also, a close-up of the weird ether inhaler from the podiatrist’s office, as detailed in this post.

Read more:

  1. Suezette Entis
    July 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    The foot you had done first looks really good. I am so sorry you are lonely and bored. If we were together you could rub my aching head and I could keep you company. I’ve had a really bad migraine for two days now. At least the vomiting seems to have stopped. I wonder if the tendon did not get cut this time maybe because he didn’t need to do on this foot? I’ll call you tonight or if you want, call me this afternoon. I am not going to be going anywhere. Love Mom

  1. August 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm
  2. April 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

