Home > Bitching, Depressing, Illness, Sad, Surgery > The Time I Had Scoliosis

The Time I Had Scoliosis

I’ve been trying to write a post all day (I write my posts the night before I publish them), but have been unsuccessful. This is mostly because I am in so much fucking pain that I can hardly bend over my keyboard to type.

A bit of history, I suppose: I’ve had a crooked back since I was 12 or so, but by the time it was discovered, I had already stopped growing, and so there was nothing to be done about it. Bracing and the like only work before a person’s bones have stopped growing, but it was too late for me. As the years have progressed, my back has gotten worse and worse, with a 15-degree curve eventually becoming a 40-degree curve. I’m now being monitored to make sure it doesn’t go past 50 degrees, at which point surgery would be all but inevitable. Scoliosis surgery is not for the faint of heart, but feel free to search for it on YouTube if you don’t believe me. Metal rods are placed to wrench your spine back into alignment, and it is a procedure I would like to avoid if at all possible. The musculature on the right side of my back is much more developed than on my left, and my right shoulder blade sticks out a bit, though most people who see my back apparently don’t even notice anything abnormal. Are there backs worse than mine? Oh, yes, much, MUCH worse. But I’m still going to bitch about it anyway. Yup, that’s my back in the image below.

Though I frequently have back pain, it has been so bad over the past 24 hours that I can barely stand it. My parents theorize that it’s because I’ve been walking with a gimpy leg now for two weeks because of my foot surgery. My legs are off balance since now one is considerably higher than the other (due to the surgical boot), and the change in my gait seems to be making itself felt in my back. Though I had stopped taking pain medication over a week ago for my foot, I find myself turning to it again so that I can MOVE. Every twist of my spine spreads shooting pain across my back and shoulders, so I’ve been bed-bound all weekend. Again. I’ve been prescribed physical therapy, which I’ll attend as soon as all this foot crap is over and done with.

I have to admit, I was prepared (or so I thought) for pain after my foot surgery, but I didn’t anticipate the psychological stress of being alone in an apartment all day, unable to move from your bed. I can’t believe I’m doing this all again with my left foot in just two weeks. Let me tell you, September is going to be a buck wild kind of month after being sedentary for so long.

  1. July 10, 2012 at 6:50 am

    Just from the x-ray I can see that It must be very painful. I feel sorry for this but wish that your situation will not become worse and will gradually recover one day.

  1. July 10, 2012 at 12:01 am

Leave a Reply

