Home > Bitching, Depressing, Illness, Scary, Surgery, Worry > The Time I Had Bunions

The Time I Had Bunions

So, this really shouldn’t be in the past tense.

I have both bunions (an old person malady) and scoliosis (which develops during adolescence). My body apparently can’t decide if it’s elderly or a child.

I’ve had the bunions on both feet since I was a child. This means I have never been able to wear heels without extreme pain, and at this stage of my life, I’ve abandoned the cursed footwear forever. I take my orthotics with me everywhere, and the joints on my big toes are red and raw at the end of each day. I’ve tried bunion guards, night splints, and toe stretchers. As I get older, the pain only gets worse. I’ve been recommended as a candidate for surgery a few times, but have always turned it town.

No more.

The surgery for my right foot is scheduled for the evening of June 26, 2012. They’ll be breaking my first metatarsal, shaving off my bunion, shifting the top section to the right, and pinning the whole thing together. They’ll also release the tendon above my second toe (to lower it), tighten the left-most tendon on my big toe, and release the tendon to the right of my big toe. After three months, the pin will be removed from my joint. Fun times!

Recovery involves wearing a surgical boot for three weeks, going through physical therapy, then repeating it all on my left foot. I’ll keep you all updated on my progress, which will hopefully be speedy!

Revel in my before pictures, if you will. Note the bone chip on my left bunion – I never even knew it was there until the x-ray!

Read more:

  1. calger459
    June 6, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Wow, that sucks that you’re in so much pain, but it’s probably long overdue that you’re getting this fixed. Good luck, I know the experience of it is going to suck, but hopefully the end result will be worth it! Can I just say those X-rays are fascinating and freaky all at the same time?

    • LeAnne
      June 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      I had this surgery on my right foot in February, and it honestly wasn’t as bad as I’d anticipated. The hard part was not being able to drive for a couple of weeks and not wearing regular shoes for awhile, but it was worth it. I have actually had a harder time adjusting to the tendon release on my second toe, and usually have to tape it to the next toe or wear a toe seperator or it’s uncomfortable in my shoes. But compared to what I was putting up with before, it’s all much better! Good luck to you!

      • June 11, 2012 at 12:39 pm

        Really? I never thought the 2nd toe would be more trouble than the first. I hope not to have the same problem, fingers crossed! But it’s encouraging to hear it wasn’t as bad as anticipated.

  2. Joseline
    June 9, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    I just had my surgery on my left foot on Wed, I was put to sleep throughout the surgery but the pain afterwards kills. Good luck!

    • June 10, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Oh boy, yeah, I’m not looking forward to the pain, but I hope it’s worth it. Keep me updated on your progress!

  3. dseveruss
    June 22, 2012 at 2:52 am

    I think your feet are beautiful just the way they are! Could take a few more pictures before your surgery?

    Good luck and hope you have a speedy recovery!

    • June 22, 2012 at 9:29 am

      Aw, thanks! I’m not really getting the surgery for cosmetic reasons; it’s more because they hurt and will continue to progress as I get older. And more pictures? Haha, I don’t know about that – I’ll just be happy one they’re gone!

      • dseveruss
        June 22, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        Understood and I wish you a footloose and pain-free future! If you decide to post more pictures, I will revel!

  1. June 27, 2012 at 3:23 pm
  2. August 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm
  3. August 31, 2012 at 9:42 am
  4. April 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

