Home > Cooking, Food, My Mom, Recipes, Things I Actually Like > The Time I Cooked Soup

The Time I Cooked Soup

Today, I thought I’d share some of my favorite soup recipes. I’m kind of obsessed with soup, and though I can cook other things, I most often grab the stock pot when it’s time for dinner. Soups are great if you’re single since you can make a massive pot of the stuff, then freeze individual portions and eat them whenever. I have two varieties of soup in my freezer right now, with a third probably joining them tomorrow.

Fiesta Turkey Soup With Green Chile Biscuits, via Southern Living

For this recipe, I make a few changes. I use kidney beans instead of “chili beans,” and I leave out the sour cream and biscuits. Tortilla strips are great with this soup, which can be easily made by slicing tortillas into strips, lightly salting and oiling them, and putting them in the oven at 350 or so for 5-10 minutes until toasted. Or you can be lazy like me and just use oyster crackers. I also use chicken from a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken at the supermarket. Getting 3 cups usually involves stripping the whole chicken except for one breast, which can be saved for some other dish.

My Mom’s Chili, via my Mom

Yield: 8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 cups chopped onions
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 16-oz cans stewed tomatoes
  • 1 15-oz can black beans
  • 1 15-oz can kidney beans
  • 1 lb ground sirloin

Preparation:

Brown onions and ground beef in a heavy-bottomed pot in 1 tbsp oil.

Add onion, bell peppers, and garlic; saute 5 minutes or until tender.

Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for a minimum of 30 minutes.

Pumpkin and Yellow Pepper Soup with Smoked Paprika, via Cooking Light

I leave out of pumpkin seeds, and replace the fresh parsley with dry (I’m cheap, what can I say?). 1 Tbsp fresh parsley is equivalent to about 1 tsp dry. Also, you really need the smoked paprika for this recipe since it provides a lot of the flavor. I love Spanish smoked paprika to death, and put it in almost all my recipes, whether called for or not.

Baked Potato Soup, via Cooking Light

This is a somewhat healthier version of potato soup that still tastes good! I tried going extra healthy by making mock potato soup using cauliflower, but the texture was all wrong. Stick with a lighter recipe like this one unless you’re on Atkins or something.

Lentil Soup, via Giada De Laurentiis

I make a few additions to this recipe, which is a solid and flavorful lentil soup. I use dry thyme instead of fresh (again, cheapness), and there’s no way I’m buying 11 cups of chicken broth! I usually use 4-5 cups of broth, and use water for the rest. I sometimes add potatoes, some balsamic vinegar, a bay leaf, and even some red pepper flakes. I also usually add spinach (fresh or frozen), and a 1/2 tsp each of coriander and cumin. Sometimes I even put some cardamom in there. Basically, this soup can take a lot of additions without tasting muddled, so give it a shot!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

