The Time I Wanted to be an Alien

baby-facehugger-alien

When I was little and people would ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I always answered, “An alien.”

I wrote stories where I featured as an alien with special powers, though I spelled it “alian.” I ran around with a “tail” made of a telephone cord stuck into the back of my pants, and I wore those springy alien antennae headbands on a regular basis. Outside. In public.

One year for Halloween my mom rented me a scratchy full-body tiger costume. I decided it wasn’t unique enough, and so I added the antennae to become a “space tiger.” I dreamed of spaceships and the wonderful adventures I’d have flying around the universe, a la Flight of the Navigator. Maybe I, too, could time travel to the magical land of the 1980s and be smuggled around by a pink-haired Sarah Jessica Parker?

In primary school, perhaps second grade, our school play involved a horribly-written script about mice. My other frequent dream was that I’d one day fall asleep and wake up as an animal, so I was pretty pumped for this play. All the students needed mouse costumes, but the catch was that half the class would be regular mice, and half would be SPACE MICE. So here was a play that combined not only animals with TAILS, but ALIENS, too! I was so excited I thought I was going to pee myself. I’d be the best space mouse that ever strut and fret her hour upon the stage.

But alas, we did not get to choose our groups, and on the fateful day I was placed in the regular mouse category. I was heartbroken, and threw an absolute fit about the injustice of it all. I still insisted on wearing my alien antennae with my mouse costume around the house, but I sadly had to put it aside the night of the play.

Looking back on it all, I don’t understand why I was so obsessed with aliens, but there it was. I wore my mouse sweatpants on a daily basis for a while, despite the fact that a massive homemade satin rat tail emerged from the back. I was the coolest second grader EVER.

  1. kenethchung
    May 8, 2012 at 5:57 am

    that’s awful!

  2. Cecilia
    July 6, 2012 at 11:48 am

    greattttttttt

  3. jay
    July 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    this pic is awsom,cool,fab i want a face hugger.

  4. July 18, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    hi im nilima

  1. June 25, 2012 at 9:55 am
  2. September 12, 2012 at 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

