Home > Bitching, Community Service, Disgusting, Halloween, High School, Ohio, Traumatic Childhood > The Time I Did Community Service – The Flower Show

The Time I Did Community Service – The Flower Show

December 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

This story is a lot less traumatic than the other ones, but it was still something of a wake-up call in high school.

I had signed up to do a pretty cushy community service job at the Cincinnati Flower Show. This is an annual event with a gala fundraiser one of the nights, and I was to attend and help however I could.

They told me to “dress up nicely,” so I went with my friend Daniella (of Coolsculpt fame) and arrived at the show in a dress and heels. I figured we might be helping with check-in, coat-check, or hors d’oeuvres. Whatever it would be, I knew that at least this time, I wouldn’t come away with permanent psychological scars.

However, it became clear that we were to perform none of these activities. Rather, we were to just stand around and “look pretty.” Daniella and I wandered around awkwardly, being ogled and and hit on by men old enough to be our fathers. In front of their wives. We were both 17, and as the night wore on, we got gifts of flowers and candy from countless lecherous men.

Apparently the gala was in sore need of some eye candy, and so the organizers contacted our local high school for some nubile young women. Lovely.

I still remember a similar incident when I realized I was too old to Trick-or-Treat anymore. When the men passing out candy give your ass a little grab as you turn to go, apparently you’re too old. I loved Trick-or-Treating, too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

