Home > Sleep, Things I Actually Like > The Time I Realized I Loved Sleep

The Time I Realized I Loved Sleep

December 7, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have a special relationship with sleep. I first noticed I thought about sleep differently when I was a teenager.

Sure, all teens love sleep, but I really, really had a thing for it. To feel rested, I need at least ten hours of sleep a night. At the minimum. It is not unusual for me to sleep 12-15 hours at a stretch, and it is full on AWESOME. I sleep so much that I actually consider it a hobby.

I love the whole feeling of climbing into bed, of letting my back stretch out, of wrapping myself in blankets. I lie in bed and read, or listen to music, or watch TV until I fall asleep. When I’m almost out, I rouse myself just enough to put my computer or book on the floor, then drift away. I often have very vivid dreams, though they not always very interesting. There’s nothing worse than dreaming about a typical day at work while asleep. Dreams about answering hundreds of emails are not my idea of fun.

But despite this, there’s nothing better than sleeping in completely and utterly. I mean you put in some ear plugs, close your blinds, and you are dead to the world. Maybe you wake up and the sun has already gone down since you’ve slept until 5 pm (oops?). Maybe you come to around 9 am, but go back to sleep because, hey, you don’t have any responsibilities today. Maybe you wake up slowly, luxuriously, but you just stay in bed and read a book for a while.

The only time my entire body is all one temperature is when I am either 1) in the shower, or 2) asleep. I suffer from terrible circulation in my hands and feet, so having both nice and toasty after a few hours under the covers feels wonderful. I have back pain most of the time, but it disappears after I’ve been asleep for a while. Sometimes my dreams are fantastic, and occasionally I can wake myself up enough to consciously control the dream while still being asleep. It’s always fun to wreak havoc in one’s own subconscious.

If I have to wake up to an alarm for too many days in a row, I get extremely crabby and pissed off. If I am kept from decent sleep for a day or two, I will be nearly unable to function in the world.

Basically, sleep is awesome, and I would do it for at least 12 hours per day if I could. I don’t understand the concept of “too much sleep,” and people who wake up at 6 am to go to the gym or something baffle me. What could be better than being asleep?

  1. December 9, 2011 at 3:40 am

    Aww…snuggly!

    I didn’t know that about you. I mean I know you sleep most of the time, but I didn’t know why.

    Very sweet!

  1. August 4, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

