Home > My Mom, Ohio, Traumatic Childhood > The Time My Mom Tore Apart My Door

The Time My Mom Tore Apart My Door

November 2, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

My mom just shared the story of this post with me this morning. I have no memory of it, but everyone I mentioned it to though it was a “great” idea, and an example of creative parenting. Oh, boy.

Both mine and my sister’s rooms were down at the end of a long hallway in our house. Our two doors faced each other, and we were locked in single combat from almost day one. At the time of this incident, I was five and she was nine. I wanted to hang out with her, and she wanted nothing to do with me. Ah, sisterly love!

Apparently, we would get into epic screaming matches with each other from the safety of our rooms, then slam our doors loudly to punctuate our displeasure. Then one of us would eventually emerge, and the shouting and slamming would begin anew.

The sound drove my mom nuts, and she told us countless times to knock it off. But there was no stopping us, and the bickering continued. Eventually, my mom got so fed up that she suddenly went out to the garage to fetch some tools. She came back to our bedrooms, and began calmly dismantling our doors. She took apart the hinges piece by piece, then hauled away the doors themselves.

“When you two learn to be civil to each other, then you’ll earn back your privacy.”

My sister and I stood gaping, then slowly retreated back into our now wide-open rooms. Somehow it just wasn’t as much fun to argue anymore when you couldn’t angrily slam a door in someone’s face.

My mom claims the drastic measure worked like a charm, and we eventually got our doors back. We still fought plenty, but always tried to close the doors quietly, lest we lose them again.

  1. September 11, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    That happened in my house, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

