Home > Bitching, Fun Childhood, New York, Ohio, Traumatic Childhood > The Time Everyone in the World Tried to Convert Me

The Time Everyone in the World Tried to Convert Me

October 18, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Honestly, this is an ongoing issue. Look upon me, for lo!, I am the heathen of the world.

My religious background is…somewhat complicated.

As far as I can tell, my mom was raised Episcopalian, and my dad was raised without a formal organized religion. When they got married, for some reason they both decided to officially convert to Judaism so as to raise us kids with a religion. Classes were taken, tests were passed, and I was given a Hebrew name upon birth. A mispronounced Hebrew name, I later learned.

My older sister was sent to Jewish day school for a while, and we all went to temple, but by the time I was about one or two years old, my parents decided to give up on practicing a religion. I guess their hearts just weren’t in it anymore.

So we started celebrating Christian holidays, but without any religious undertones. I didn’t realize Christmas or Easter were religious holidays until I was almost a teenager. We lit the menorah AND the Christmas tree together, which I’m pretty sure makes no sense at all. We stopped lighting the menorah when I started burning household items in the holy flames – the smell of melting rubber bands didn’t put anyone in the holiday spirit.

When I was older and was spending the night at friends’ houses, the parents there soon realized there was something fishy going on. I celebrated Christmas, but didn’t go to church. I had a supremely Jewish name, but didn’t go to temple. I was pretty forthright at a young age about my disbelief in God. His existence didn’t make logical sense to me, and I was an oddly logical child. Without evidence, I simply wouldn’t believe. I don’t think I ever even thought Santa was real. I made a game each year of discovering where my parents hid the Christmas presents, then feigned surprise on the 25th.

Soon, my friends’ parents started dragging me to church on a regular basis. No matter the denomination, I’ve probably sat through a service or two. I’ve been to Catholic mass, Sunday school, Jehovah’s Witness’ sermons, and plenty of temple services. I don’t even know if my parents knew I was going to all this – but they probably would’ve been fine with it. But I was just left confused and bored.

Some of the parents even decided that I was a bad influence on their precious snowflakes because of my atheist beliefs, and I was banned from their homes. I was too young to understand the problem, and so was left hurt and puzzled. I dutifully attended church with my friends’ families, but never believed. I even accidentally took communion once since I thought it was snack time. The cracker was stale and dry – would it kill them to make the body of Christ taste a little better? Could we get a little Ritz action in there, maybe with a nice olive tapenade? My suggestions didn’t go over well with the other devout in line, but at least I wasn’t invited to that particular church again.

Religion still confuses me. My name is Israeli enough that people will spontaneously speak to me in Hebrew, which I don’t understand. Campus Hillel was all over me when I first came to college, but I declined their invitations. My freshman roommate was part of the Campus Crusade for Christ, so every evening became an impromptu Bible lesson. A Jehovah’s Witness friend in middle school forced me into Bible study circles on a regular basis, where I answered “Noah” to every question, much to annoyance of the circle leader. I feel more comfortable with the Christian holidays, but am rejected by many church-goers since my appreciation is apparently only skin-deep. But I also enjoy celebrating Jewish holidays with my extended family here in New York.

I guess I’ll just stick to Halloween, Thanksgiving, and 4th of July. Holidays with candy, turkey, and explosions are right up my alley.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

